Liebster Blog Award

                                                                                                                                                                                                                 

liebster

The Liebster Award

The Liebster Award is a blogging award that is passed on by bloggers to blogs with less than 200 followers that are worth a read.  I have been nominated for this award by an auspicious blogger, Nichole- No Friend As Loyal!  Thank you so much!

Receivers of the Liebster Award must:

  1. List 11 Random Facts about yourself
  2. Answer the questions that were asked of you (by the blogger that nominated you)
  3. Nominate 11 other blogs for the Liebster Blog Award and Link to their Blogs
  4. Notify the bloggers of their award
  5. Ask the award winners 11 questions to answer once they accept the award        

_____________

Okay, let us start -11 random facts about Grayston:

  1. Recently, I forgot how much I loved to stand in the rain and look at every little thing from another perspective. 
  2. I have a fear of dogs which rapidly increases due to their size!
  3. I take pride in being a self-published author. How can I not?
  4. I don’t have a favorite food, dessert, or gum but when it comes to books- I simply can’t decide
  5. I love strawberry flavored twizzlers but cherry ones make me gag.
  6. There are so many pet peeves on my list of ‘annoying things’ that it’s hard to keep count.
  7. Believe it or not, I travel to Florida almost twice a year and although Orlando is forty-five minutes – I have never been there
  8. On my bucket list, I once wrote that I wanted to experience a broken bone and get a blue cast. Later that year, I, not only broke my finger, but went through series of casts!
  9. I am dying to get into one of the Ivy Leagues!
  10. When I was fourteen years old, I interned at an amazing local flower shop. Since then, I fell in love with carnations, roses, and Japanese Cherry Blossoms!
  11. Silly as it is- I’m still waiting for that one true love 🙂

My answers to Nichole’s questions…

1. If you could meet any author/person you admire, and ask them only one question, who and what would it be?

There is one woman in particular that comes to mind when the words ‘author and admire’ are placed together. The trials in life she went through, writing on paper when homeless, raising a hungry child without enough money to even feed even herself, and through all that she held on to her dream. If I could meet J.K. Rowling, I would ask her was there ever a time where she thought she was better off dropping Harry Potter into a trashcan and getting a real job to take better care of her child.

2. Why did you decide to start your blog, and what is your favourite thing about it?

I decided to start this blog after Napowrimo suggested that I did. I had long since, been contemplating about it, but that site gave me the jump start I needed.  My most favourite thing about it would be the amazing people I meet and the comments they leave behind. It inspires me to keep going and without them, I wouldn’t be here.

3. Which book has been with you the most places?

A great deal of them, but one which, I, in particular remember, is Robinson Crusoe. I had taken a liking to the book fairly quickly and it was hard to let go. His adventures truly captivated me and although, nowadays, Robinson is considered ‘old reading’ it would have to be the book that has been with me most places.

 4. Is there a book that you once gave up on that you would consider revisiting, and why?

Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini , because I’m all for trying new things and years back when I attempted reading dragons -let’s say, I epically failed. I lost interest and in days was back in the library searching for something more dangerously alluring. The reason why I would consider revisiting these series of books, starting from the first one – Eragon, would be because my taste in books has changed.

5. Something that you learned recently.

I mentioned standing in the rain as one of my random facts. To be honest, it was holding me off – not going into the rain – because I felt that I had to act like an adult. Several days ago, I threw away common sense and adapted something called ‘following the heart’.

6. Is there a book or piece of writing that impacted your behaviour or actions after reading it?

Yes, there was this piece of article which I stumbled upon called, “Steps on helping your story reach an editor”. It showed various steps in perfecting your piece of writing.  Most importantly, it emphasized completion and a plot. I don’t know whether it was a trap which I fell into obliviously, since I’m still waiting for an editor. Or maybe, I didn’t follow all the instructions to a T.

7. What is your favourite quote?

That is truly a difficult question for me to answer, because I’m a quote-a-holic! Though, one of my favorites would unknown and I live by it everyday. “Challenges are what make life interesting and overcoming them is what makes life meaningful.” – Joshua J. Marine

8. Do you find that you dread or anticipate movie adaptations of books?

It depends. If it’s one of my favorite books then nothing can beat imagination and I would be dreading a movie adaption. But, if it happens on a novel like The Great Gatsby, which I haven’t read, I would anticipate the movie.

9. Has a character in a book or film ever reminded you of someone you know?

Yes, numerous times. Mostly it’s my friends but occasionally I can relate it to my parents.

10. “We read to know we are not alone.” (C.S. Lewis)  Agree or disagree?

I agree.

11. If the zombie apocalypse was at hand, and you could only take five books with you before you run for it, which would you choose and why?

-) Robinson Crusoe, because he’s smart and resourceful. His adventures alone prove that he can handle himself at extremes and I can learn to survive through his tactics.

-)  Maximum Ride, she’s always on the run and I could take few things from her too, give or take.

-) Romeo and Juliet, because I have yet to read that book.

-) The biggest thesaurus in the world to shield me from their hideous forms!

-) Last but not least, any random book to occupy myself when I’m bored!

_____________________

Questions for my nominees:

1) What is your favourite book?

2) List three of your least favourite quotes

3) Why and when did you start writing?

4) Something that you learned recently.

5) What places of the world would you like to travel?

6) If you could meet any author/person you admire, and ask them only one question, who and what would it be?

7) Is there anything you’ve done that you regret not doing?

8) Has a character in a book or film ever reminded you of someone you know?

9) Which book has been with you the most places?

10) “To expect the unexpected shows a thoroughly modern intellect.” (Oscar Wilde) Agree or Disagree?

11) We can’t change the decisions we have made, but if the same thing occurred again what would you do differently?
Blogs I nominate for the Liebster Blog Award:

  1. Tag back: No Friend As Loyal
  2. J T Weaver
  3. JustLats
  4. Eye-Dancer
  5. Maxima
  6. 18YearsYoung
  7. Totaloverdose
  8. Kira on Wrestling Life
  9. The Art Clique
  10. Street of Dreams
  11. Michelle Proulx

10 thoughts on “Liebster Blog Award

  1. Congratulations on your award! Also, wow! Thank you for the nomination! I recently received the Liebster Award myself – but I will answer those questions you made (eventually)! Again,. congrats! 😀

  2. Congratulations on a well deserved award! You are such a gifted writer :). Thank you for the nomination, but unfortunately I dont qualify for it any longer. I have been blessed to pass the 200 mark. Thank you again

  3. Hey again! Congratulations once more on receiving the award and thank you for the nomination! Thought I might quickly answer your q’s here! I apologise in advance for my terrible answers!
    1: One that is written in English
    2: Yeah…I don’t really have any quotes rattling around inside of my head of any known description. I always fear the days when people far more intelligent than I ask such demanding questions.
    3: Way back when I was extraordinarily young I began to write and really enjoyed doing so. In the words of Jack Reacher: ‘it began as a hobby and turned into an obsession’.
    4: I still have a lot to learn.
    5: In no particular order: Vancouver, Greece, California (again), Hawaii (again), Bora Bora, Egypt, Italy (list is still a work in progress)
    6: Might want to meet my celeb crush and ask her out to dinner? I’m really not taking these questions seriously, am I? Sorry about that!
    7: What do you mean? If I have done something how can I regret not doing it? There are things I haven’t done that I regret not doing. However, if you want me to list them, I think you’re going to need to acquire a bigger ‘comments section’.
    8: Not that I can remember…
    9: Perhaps Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone? I read this particular book a few times when I was younger
    10: Definitely agree!
    11: Lots of things! The list is a never ending novel that I shall keep close to my heart for it is too embarrassing to be read aloud.
    Thank you again for the award! I feel the need to apologise again for my answers (whoa!). Congrats again! 😀

    • Thanks for the laugh 🙂 I enjoyed reading your answers and although there were some I didn’t expect- I loved reading ’em the same! You also shouldn’t feel the need to apologize for you’ve already received the award and I understand. 😀 Thanks again for promptly replying to my questions! It means a lot!

  4. Pingback: A Harvest of Friends | Eye-Dancers

  5. Pingback: Liebster Award (Again) :) | The Day Dreaming, Candy Eating, Red Headed Bookworm

Thoughts Are Always Appreciated =)