Writing

I am an author of my own life and a highly ambitious writer. I started writing at a young age and enjoyed the feeling of penciling down my feelings in my own personal diary. I was home schooled throughout middle school and found out about an online young writers’ program by Nanowrimo from a Home Educator magazine. It immediately got me interested and I signed up, getting started.

Nanowrimo encouraged me to write my own fictional story in the month of November and it took a lot of effort and determination. In the end, it was all worth it. I was proud of myself and it amazed me that I had it in myself to write everyday, even if it was taking couple hours aside to write. At eleven years old, I wrote my first novella and got it self-published a year later from Create Space, with the help of my parents. I got quick reads and people bought it online, but then I thought, why not try to accomplish something bigger? That’s how I went on and wrote my second book. Throughout homeschooling, I became more flexible with time and balanced my usual studies, chores, social life, and travel sports, with writing.

My way to truly express myself as I got older, I soon learned, was through writing poetry. So more than descriptive writing and simply writing stories, I gained a passion for free verse. Edgar Allan Poe became my favorite poet and The Raven was my ‘new’ favorite poem. When writing poetry as a kid, I had to be careful not to use more than couple hundred words. Hence my habit of keeping a huge thesaurus under my bed and having easy access to the dictionary. It wasn’t all that bad, considering my use of SAT words in stories and writing shot up.

Now, I’m an at-home student doing online college courses, all the while trying to improve my writing. I’m also looking for a college to attend and Brown Univ. is somewhere near my radar of colleges. Through word press, I hope to gain constructive feedback on my poetry for the 30-day poetry challenge and other pieces of writing.

-Writing is nothing but rewriting

2 thoughts on “Writing

    • Yes, writing has truly shown me a path and has given me numerous opportunities in life. 🙂 You, too, are a great writer! (I especially loved your ‘poetry friday wish list’!)

Thoughts Are Always Appreciated =)

